A surprise awaits…

gmail-icon

Every morning, opening up gmail is a surprise. I get frequent updates from family and friends all over the world. Over the course of a week, I learn about births, deaths, marriages, parties and the dates that my dear ones will be arriving for a visit. Gmail serves up photos, recipes, jokes, book and movie recommendations, reminders of promises made and debts unpaid.

As well, I receive a huge amount of bulk mail. This is sometimes useful and sometimes useless. I get entertaining and happy news, and I get stuff I don’t even want to think about. But either way, it’s all food for thought.

Yucatan Expat Life keeps me abreast of Merida’s international community news:

http://yucatanexpatlife.com/womens-march-allies-join-forces-merida/

For what I don’t even want to think about – Mexfiles’ predictions and points to ponder keep my consciousness on alert:

The Obama Administration record in Mexico

Here’s a video that’s too-funny-for-words – courtesy of my friend Lou who sends this clip from the Dutch equivalent of the John Stewart show:

But of course, not everyone has a Dutch sense of humour. The next message is an example of the point-of-view that has landed our world in its current state – I give you The Unseen Moon – no further comment

https://unseenmoon.wordpress.com/2017/01/20/adios-barry/

Steve Cotton, a blogger who lives way over on the other side of Mexico posts nearly every day. His writing is always thoughtful and sensitive.

http://steveinmexico.blogspot.mx/

Another of my favourite blogs comes just once a week. It is a “journal” and today it contained some wonderful quotations:

http://sylviasaltwater.com/of-all-the-things-ive-lost-i-miss-my-mind-the-most/

And finally, a warm-the-heart photo attachment from my friend Cliff Hinderman at the Grassroots Oaxaca Street Children’s holiday party. He tells me that many of the children’s gifts were donated by the participants on last year’s International Women’s Club fundraising tour:

oaxaca-05oaxaca-04oaxaca-03oaxaca-01

12 thoughts on “A surprise awaits…

    • Writing From Merida January 25, 2017 / 7:56 am

      One of the things I like best about blogging is getting to know the other bloggers. Not as many blog as used to be the case, but happily, some of my favurites are still around

  1. Leane Garland January 25, 2017 / 10:37 am

    Thank you for the Dutch video — I passed it on to my political friends. I thought The Unseen Moon was satire until I read the comments and The Trump Reaction. Always helpful to have alternative . . . points of view!

    • Writing From Merida January 25, 2017 / 6:40 pm

      Yes I wanted to show the diverse types of email I get… DT and his cronies can’t say I don’t read or listen to their takes on world affairs. However they have yet to convince me even a tiny bit… And on the other hand, the Dutch video… ha, ha,ha,ha…

  2. Kelly January 25, 2017 / 10:44 am

    I’m trying to find a spot to advertise ourselves and our group for house sitting in Merida. Any ideas? Kelly

    >

    • Writing From Merida January 25, 2017 / 6:41 pm

      Why don’t you placean ad in Yucatan Expat Life? Their rates are reasonable and they are well-read.

  3. Jay January 25, 2017 / 11:54 pm

    Hey Joanna –how are you? Hope you received the last brunch photos albeit years back.

    Great blog post. And that moon-dude needs to let the U.S. go; he moved, married and keeps dissing the U.S. from MX, give it up, dude.

    I remember he blasted Debi w/o knowledge of her move.

    Anyway- nice to read the balance and participation of Mérida’s international folks during this new world change.

    • Writing From Merida January 26, 2017 / 7:46 am

      I try to keep a balance and at least listen to others’ opinions, but after yesterday’s actions by DT, that gets harder and harder to do.

  4. smokesilver January 26, 2017 / 9:50 pm

    If you think that DT is hard to take now just wait until the real governing begins. Now is posturing. Later it will be a war between him & just about everyone else. I enjoy your blog. Thanks

    • Writing From Merida February 2, 2017 / 7:55 pm

      I am glad you enjoy my blog. I used to write a lot more often but it is a challenge to stay positive in the face of DT’s daily insults.

  5. C.M. Mayo February 2, 2017 / 12:35 pm

    Dear Joanna, Thank you for your blogging and your efforts towards building community and a message of friendship and appreciation for Mexico. (I am also a long-time resident here, as you know.) There is an op-ed today in the NYT I wanted to share with you… I also wanted to share it with you because as writers we are concerned with “le mot juste” and I think the author of the op-ed has found le mot juste. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/02/02/opinion/trumps-mexican-shakedown.html?ref=opinion

    • Writing From Merida February 2, 2017 / 7:45 pm

      Thank you for your comment Catherine. Like so many others, I am still shocked that a person such as DT has been elected president of the United States. As my husband says, it is a return to the policies of the 1950s and 60s. The article you recommended is excellent. The author calls Trump’s demands a”shakedown” Indeed, “le mot juste.”

Leave a Reply

