Mole Poblano

Jorge and I made Mole Poblano this week. Our guests all enjoyed the dish and asked me to blog the recipe. So here you have our version of this classic entree from the central Mexican state of Puebla…

mole

MOLE POBLANO

(for 8 persons)

Place the following ingredients in a large pot and completely cover with water (about 3 quarts). Put on the lid and bring to the boil, then lower the heat and stew everything for 1/2 hour.

  • 2 chickens, cut into quarters, skin removed
  • ½ med. white onion, chopped coarsely
  • 4 whole cloves of garlic, skinned
  • 1 T. salt
  • 10 whole black pepper corns
  • 2 tsp. dried oregano

While the chicken is stewing, cook and char on a stove top griddle:

  • 1 lg. white onion
  • 1 lg. red pepper
  • 2 lg. Roma tomatoes

Cut the vegetables (charred skins and all) into large chunks and put them in the blender. Add:

  • 2 oz. of dark chocolate (La Abuelita)
  • 1/2  tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 T. chicken consommé powder (Maggi)
  • the contents of 2 jars (235g. each) of (DoñaMaria) mole paste.

When the chicken is cooked, remove the pieces and set them on a platter to cool for ½ hour – then remove the meat from the bones in as large pieces as possible. Set the chicken pieces to one side. Discard the bones.

Strain the broth, discard the onion and other bits, and then take out enough broth to cover the ingredients in the blender. Process until smooth. If your blender’s glass is not a large one, do one half of the ingredients at a time.  Transfer the mixture to a clay cooking pot or other large pot.

Reserve 4 cups of the broth so you can use it when making the rice, and add all the rest to the blended mixture in the cooking pot. Stir well and put the pot on medium heat. The mixture will be “soupy”, so you need to let it reduce by about a third, or until it has the texture of a creamy sauce.

Add the chicken pieces to the mole sauce and simmer for 20 minutes.

Measure out:

  • 2 cups of rice

And prepare it as you please, but instead of using water, use the:

  • 4 cups of reserved chicken broth

To the steaming rice, add:

  • 2 envelopes of condimento español

(this is basically turmeric and is available at you corner store or in the market)

Optional ingredients::

  • ¼ cup of toasted sesame seeds
  • light cream
  • red onion
  • cilantro leaves

To plate:

Mold ½ cup of rice on one side of the plate. Spoon the Mole beside it. To garnish the mole, I sometimes run a line of cream over the top and sprinkle it with the toasted sesame seeds. Sometimes I place thinly sliced red onion on top or I use cilantro leaves.

I serve guacamole, fried plantains and hot corn tortillas with this meal. I pair it with a robust red wine.

16 thoughts on “Mole Poblano

    • Writing From Merida February 4, 2017 / 9:10 pm

      “Max” had better add the recipe to his collection! Hope to see you soon.

  1. allisonmphd February 4, 2017 / 6:26 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It is even more delicious than any I have ever sampled, and the thought that I could have it in the U.S. when I’m missing all my Merida friends is very comforting.

    • Writing From Merida February 4, 2017 / 9:09 pm

      Absolutely Allison. Try making it while you’re still here and take home any ingredients you cannot get there.

  2. Cliff Rugg February 4, 2017 / 6:39 pm

    Muchas Gracias. Muy delicioso😋😋

    • Writing From Merida February 4, 2017 / 9:08 pm

      I know you liked the dish, you took a second helping… always a positive sign for the cook. Thank you!

  3. susanjc February 4, 2017 / 6:40 pm

    Thank you for posting this! Mole poblano is my favorite. I am going to try to make it here in New Orleans. It looks so delicious in the photo.

  4. Sharron McGrath February 4, 2017 / 8:30 pm

    Many thanks, Joanna, for this recipe. The dish is delicious and it was the first time I tasted it.

    • Writing From Merida February 4, 2017 / 9:05 pm

      I’m glad you liked it Sharron. It was fun to have you at our home.

  5. William February 5, 2017 / 10:05 am

    I love all the different kinds of “mole”, although I have never tried to make it myself.
    If you are ever in Mexico City, try out a restaurant called “Angelopolitano” in Colonia Roma Norte. Their traditional “mole poblano” is excellent, and they also have a number of non-traditional “moles”. On my last visit I had chicken breast stuffed with apples and goat cheese and covered with fig “mole”. Fantastic!

    • Writing From Merida February 5, 2017 / 10:36 am

      “Mole” actually means “sauce”… so yes there are many different ones. But in my book, nothing comes close to the Poblano. The balance of flavors and texture is amazing. But I always enjoy a change, I hope to be in Mexico City this spring and will try “Angelpolitano”. Thanks for the recommendation.

  6. kerry baker February 16, 2017 / 8:09 pm

    Hi! I am working on a project (I live in Mexico too) and wondered if you’d be available for a brief email chat (since your comment section’s probably not the best place to ask). My email is kerryinmexico@gmail.com

    I love this recipe. I wish it was set up to post on Pinterest. I have a board just for my Mexican food, as I have found it challenging to “translate” some of my favorite recipes here, do you?

    • Writing From Merida February 19, 2017 / 2:34 pm

      Hi Kerry, I just saw your comment. I will email youin a day or so.

  7. Maggie March 11, 2017 / 7:08 pm

    I made this mole poblano yesterday! Thanks, Joany. It was and is “muy rico”. Soooo delicious and for me, felt very easy to make. Even got the butcher at the little grocery store, all excited. I may take him some!

    • Writing From Merida March 12, 2017 / 12:08 am

      I am glad you made the mole… like you said it is not hard, just time consuming. I never mind that, I think it is fun to spend a day cooking, especially if I have someone there with me.

Leave a Reply

